The Light – L2W

Lyrics 2 Words (L2W) is a project I’ve wanted to write for a long time. It’s just me converting songs (especially hip-hop and R&B) to words in a way anyone can read and find meaning. Some songs are quite deep and may be useful for a lot more people than those who actually listen to the genre of music. L2W hopes to bridge the barrier and help you find meaning in songs you may otherwise never listen to.

I’m starting with the very first song that made me want to start doing this in the first place – Common’s “The Light”, which is a beautiful hip-hop love song. I hope you enjoy the read. You can find the song itself at the end of this post. Let’s get to it.


There are times,
When you’ll need someone,
I will be by your side, oh, darling,
There is a light that shines,
Special for you and me.


I never knew a love like this,
There has to be something for me to write this.
Queen, I haven’t seen you in a minute.
I wrote this letter, and finally decide to send it,
Signed, sealed and delivered, for us to grow together,
Love has no limit, let’s spend it slow forever.

I know your heart is weathered by what other guys did to you,
I’m not going to assault them, because I probably did it too.
Because of you, I handle feelings with care,
Some guys recognize the light but they can’t handle the glare.
You know I’m not the type to walk around with matching shirts,
If relationship is effort, I will match your work.

I want to be the one to make you happiest and hurt you the most.
They say the end is near, it’s important that we’re close to the Most High,
Regardless of what happens, on Him let’s rely.

Love has no limit, let’s spend it slow forever.

It’s important we communicate, and tune the fate of this union to the right pitch.
I never call you my bitch, or even my boo.
There’s so much in a name and so much more in you.
Few understand the union of woman and man,
And sex and a tingle is where they assume that it land.

But that’s fly by night, I write in the sky for you.
For in these cold Chi night’s moon, you’re my light.
If Heaven had a height, you would be that tall,
Ghetto to coffee shop, through you I see that all.

Let’s stick to understanding and we won’t fall,
For better or worse times, I hope to me you’d call.
So I pray every day more than anything that we’ll stay friends as we begin to lay this foundation for a family.

Love isn’t simple.
Why can’t it be anything worth having that you work at annually?
Granted we’ve known each other for some time,
It doesn’t take a whole day to recognize sunshine.

Some guys recognize the light but they can’t handle the glare.

It’s kind of fresh that you listen to more than hip-hop,
And I can catch you in the mix from beauty to thrift shop.
Plus, you still pop when it’s time to,
Thinking you’re fresh, suggesting beats I should rhyme to.
At times, when I’m lost I try to find you,
You know to give me space when it’s time to.

My heart’s dictionary defines you – it’s love and happiness.
Truthfully it’s hard tryin’ to practice abstinence.
The time we committed love, it was real good,
It had to be for me to arrive, and it still feels good.

But I know the sex is not going to keep you.
But as my equal, it’s how I must treat you.
As my reflection in light I’ll lead you.
And whatever’s right I’ll feed you.
Yo, I’ll tell you the rest when I see you; Peace!

Few understand the union of woman and man,
And sex and a tingle is where they assume that it land.

Common – The Light

Lyrics from Genius.com

Leave a comment