For or Against?

Argument
1. an oral disagreement; verbal opposition; contention; altercation.
2. a discussion involving differing points of view; debate.
3. a process of reasoning; series of reasons.
4. a statement, reason, or fact for or against a point.
5. an address or composition intended to convince or persuade; persuasive discourse.
6. subject matter; theme.

It’s been a while that I’ve been here. I’ve been trying to decide what next to write on and out of the jumbled up ideas in my head, this is what I ended up bringing. Hope you learn something.

Being who I am, they say I like arguments. Ok, I actually like a good argument, especially when who I’m arguing with is quite intelligent. I like to let people know what they don’t already know or what they think they know but actually don’t. It kinda gives me some sorta energy rush (the type that comes with accomplishing a great task.) So when someone intelligent gets to ‘see’ my point, the feeling’s greater!

One thing is, I’ve had some very senseless arguments. Lots of them actually. But the truth is, there’s always something to learn everywhere. I can argue on almost any topic of discussion as long as I have a ‘point to prove’. I hate to lose an argument (hardly does any argument have a losing party anyway, there’s just always a compromise or a big fight). What I simply hate more than losing an argument, is someone just agreeing with me from the outset (after making an opposing point) just because he/she feels I’m an argument freak! Aaaarrrrgggghhhh!!!! It bites me!

Moving on, I’ve established that I like to argue but my basic purpose is to garner knowledge, as well as dispense it. So, how do I think a good argument should go? First, people get into arguments for various reasons. Some just for the fun they can find in it (believe me, some guys just enjoy having people bark at one another), some to make a point (this is how we all start), some to go against any point (yea, no matter what the point is), some to ensure their points are generally accepted (whether right or wrong) and some to actually learn something new. Whatever your purpose, arguments could be serious business.

Looking at the definitions above, you’d agree that an argument (a good one) should create a platform for reasoning and acquiring new knowledge. So I decided to write out a list of ‘ingredients’ (as the argument guru, :D) required to cook up a good argument. Here they are;

Ingredient #1: Two (sensible) differing points of view. The topic of argument could be (almost) anything but the POVs matter a lot. They show what angle each individual is looking at the subject matter from and could provide new knowledge on such.

Ingredient #2: As much as there’s always one, bias should avoided if a reasonable argument is to be had. One of the common issues I hate to argue about is Religion but if you find an open-minded person to argue points with (my friend Lawal comes to mind right now), you could have an enlightening discussion. This is to emphasize how important it is to avoid bias. It is the reason some arguments end up in fights.

Ingredient #3: All points of view must have intellectual backing. This is where the learning comes in. If you start an argument and realise the other person’s POV doesn’t make any intellectual sense, it’s best to stop. Never waste useful time arguing with an idiot!

Ingredient #4: Passing your points across and backing them up shouldn’t have any physical aggression. You could get a little agitated when your points are not being appreciated or seen, so lots of gesticulations & physical activity might seem necessary but it should be limited to demonstrations only. No touching, shoving or pushing is allowed, much less hitting, slapping or punching. ‘Nuff said!

Ingredient #5: Intelligent arguments are devoid of abusive language. There’s no point calling the other person names because he doesn’t see your point. If you’re used to arguing with close friends, this could be very difficult to avoid so it has to be worked on. No one likes to be called names, most especially by someone you’re not well acquainted with.

Ingredient #6: Ability to accept points that are well proven. This is critical to having a sensible discussion. Arguments are not wars, you don’t have to win at all cost. Like I said before, there’s almost always no losing party as most arguments end in some sort of compromise, each person agreeing with some of the other’s points and while still opposed to others.

Ingredient #7: Lastly, remain friends. You should be able to have other conversations after a good argument has just been had. It signifies the end of a reasonable discussion. If other ingredients are there, this last one will come in naturally. On occasions where one or two are missing, putting this last one covers up.

*Sidetalk: E no easy to be lecturer o! I don’t even know about half of what I’ve written but…this is my blog na! Abeg, just take today’s lesson like that jooor!!*

There! So having an argument could be good for your intellectual health. Let’s just be sure we learn everyday. By the way, doing research really gives you the upper hand if you’re so concerned about winning.

Before I sign out, here’s a topic we could have an argument (def. 2 & 3) on:

“What is the best way the youth can ensure the leadership gets to address their issues?”
-___-

Here I drop my keypad!

Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry.

Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry.

Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry.

Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry.

Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry.

Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry.

Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry.

2 thoughts on “For or Against?

  1. I hardly find willing brains to be picked. They say I’m ruthless and largely intimidating when making my points or I make a counter argument and step aside so arguing with me isn’t advisible and it totally kills my mojo as everybody just listens and agrees!

  2. I love to argue. It’s in my blood. My zodiac (Gemini) sign is famous for arguments. I love the process of exchange involved in a good argument. Some ppl view me as contrary but I question that I may learn.

Leave a Reply

